Gluten is a naturally occurring protein found in wheat, rye and barley. To be gluten free, it means that anything that has flour in it cannot be eaten. Oats, crackers, bread, cereal, thickening in gravy, breading and salad dressings are just a few of the foods where you may find gluten.
Those that suffer with gluten sensitivity or Celiac disease are constantly reading labels. It is seen as a fad but in reality it is a serious issue for anyone with the disease. Celiac disease is referred to as the wasting disease because the body can’t digest gluten.
When planning an event, it is becoming more important to find out what people cannot have to eat. Be sure to post your menu so people can know ahead of time what the meals will be. Have fresh fruit or veggie options that are not covered in sauce.
Talk with your chef to plan a menu item that is gluten free.